Two awards each for ‘Mank’, ‘Sound of Metal’

You are currently viewing Two awards each for ‘Mank’, ‘Sound of Metal’

Here is the complete list of winners as they were announced.

Writing (Original Screenplay)


Promising Young Woman, written by Emerald Fennell.

Fennell’s directorial debut is an audacious examination of justice for sexual crimes. Carey Mulligan plays Cassie, a medical school dropout who embarks on a mission to avenge the rape of death of her college friend.

Also nominated

Minari, written by Lee Isaac Chung.

Judas and the Black Messiah, screenplay by Will Berson and Shaka King; story by Will Berson, Shaka King, Kenny Lucas and Keith Lucas.

Sound of Metal, screenplay by Darius Marder and Abraham Marder; story by Darius Marder and Derek Cianfrance.

The Trial of the Chicago 7, written by Aaron Sorkin.

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)


The Father, screenplay by Christopher Hampton and Florian Zeller.

Read our review of The Father here.

Also nominated

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm, screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman, Lee Kern; story by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer and Nina Pedrad.

Nomadland, written for the screen by Chloe Zhao.

One Night in Miami, screenplay by Kemp Powers.

The White Tiger, written for the screen by Ramin Bahrani.

International Feature Film


Another Round, Denmark.

Here’s what we thought of Another Round.

Also nominated

Better Days, Hong Kong.

Collective, Romania.

The Man Who Sold His Skin, Tunisia.

Quo Vadis, Aida?, Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Actor in a Supporting Role


Daniel Kaluuya, Judas And The Black Messiah.

Daniel Kaluuya is mesmerising as Fred Hampton, the leader of the radical Black Panthers Party who fearlessly fights for justice for African-Americans. Read our review here.

Also nominated

Paul Raci, Sound Of Metal.

Sacha Baron Cohen, The Trial Of The Chicago 7.

Leslie Odom Jr, One Night In Miami.

Lakeith Stanfield, Judas And The Black Messiah.

Make Up and Hair Styling


Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson.

The adaptation of the stage musical uses a recording session in the 1920s to look at the marginalisation of African Americans by the music industry.

Also nominated

Emma, Marese Langan, Laura Allen and Claudia Stolze.

Hillbilly Elegy, Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle and Patricia Dehaney.

Mank, Gigi Williams, Kimberley Spiteri and Colleen LaBaff.

Pinocchio, Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli and Francesco Pegoretti.

Costume Design


Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Ann Roth.

Also nominated

Mulan, Bina Daigeler.

Emma, Alexandra Byrne.

Mank, Trish Summerville.

Pinocchio, Massimo Cantini Parrini.



Nomadland, Chloe Zhao.

She is only the second woman to win in this category after Kathryn Bigelow (for The Hurt Locker). Zhao said in her acceptance speech, “This is for anyone who has the faith and courage to hold on to the goodness in themselves, and to hold on to the goodness in each another.”

Read our review of Nomadland here.

Also nominated

Mank, David Fincher.

Another Round, Thomas Vinterberg.

Minari, Lee Isaac Chung.

Promising Young Woman, Emerald Fennell.



Sound of Metal, Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés and Phillip Bladh.

Our own Oscar-winning Resul Pookutty tells us why Sound of Metal is so special. Read the interview here.

Also nominated

Greyhound, Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman.

Mank, Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin.

News of the World, Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett.

Soul, Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott and David Parker.

Animated Feature Film


Soul, Pete Docter and Dana Murray.

Jazz, the afterlife, and resurrection: read our review of Soul here.

Also nominated

Wolfwalkers, Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart, Paul Young and Stéphan Roelants.

Onward, Dan Scanlon and Kori Rae.

Over the Moon, Glen Keane, Gennie Rim and Peilin Chou.

A Shaun and the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon, Richard Phelan, Will Becher and Paul Kewley.

Animated Short Film


If Anything Happens I Love You, Michael Govier, Will McCormack.

Also nominated

Burrow, Madeline Sharafian.

Genius Loci, Adrien Merigeau, Nicolas Pleskof.

Opera, Erick Oh.

Yes-People, Gisli Darri Halldorsson.

Documentary Short Subject


Collete, Anthony Giacchino and Alice Doyard.

Also nominated

A Concerto is a Conversation, Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers.

Do Not Split, Anders Hammer and Charlotte Cook.

Hunger Ward, Skye Fitzgerald and Michael Scheuerman.

A Love Song for Latasha, Sophia Nahli Allison and Janice Duncan.

Live Action Short Film


Travon Free, Martin Desmond Roe, Two Distant Strangers.

Also nominated

Doug Roland, Feeling Through.

Elvira Lind, The Letter Room.

Farah Nabulsi, The Present.

Tomer Shushan, White Eye.

Visual Effects


Tenet, Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher.

Also nominated

Love and Monsters, Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox.

The Midnight Sky, Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins.

Mulan, Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steve Ingram.

The One and Only Ivan, Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Jones and Santiago Colomo Martinez.

Documentary Feature


My Octopus Teacher, Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed and Craig Foster.

Pippa Ehrlich and James Reed’s documentary follows the unusual relationship between a filmmaker and a female octopus. The film has an Indian connection: NDTV veteran and nature documentary filmmaker Swati Thiyagarajan is the production manager and one of the associate producers. It’s available in India on Netflix.

Also nominated

Collective, Alexander Nanau and Bianca Oana.

Crip Camp, Nicole Newnham, Jim LeBrecht and Sara Bolder.

The Mole Agent, Maite Alberdi and Marcela Santibanez.

Time, Garrett Bradley, Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn.

Actress in a Supporting Role


Yuh-Jung Youn, Minari.

In Lee Isaac Chung’s 1980s-set movie about South Korean immigrants in America, Yuh-Jung Youn plays a feisty grandmother. Read our review here.

Also nominated

Maria Bakalova, Borat Subsequent Moviefilm.

Glenn Close, Hillbilly Elegy.

Olivia Colman, The Father.

Amanda Seyfried, Mank.

Production Design


Mank, production design Donald Graham Burt, set decoration Jan Pascale.

Also nominated

The Father, production design Peter Francis, set Decoration Cathy Featherstone.

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, production design Mark Ricker, set decoration Karen O’Hara and Diana Stoughton.

News of the World, production design David Crank, set decoration Elizabeth Keenan.

Tenet, production design Nathan Crowley, set decoration Kathy Lucas.



Mank, Erik Messerschmidt.

David Fincher’s Mank revisits the making of Citizen Kane.

Also nominated

Judas And The Black Messiah, Sean Bobbitt.

News Of The World, Dariusz Wolski.

Nomadland, Joshua James Richards.

The Trial Of The Chicago 7, Phedon Papamichael.

Film Editing


Sound of Metal, Mikkel EG Nielsen.

Also nominated

Nomadland, Chloe Zhao.

The Father, Yorgos Lamprinos.

Promising Young Woman, Frederic Thoraval.

The Trial of the Chicago 7, Alan Baumgarten.

Actress in a Leading Role

Viola Davis, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.

Andra Day, The United States vs Billie Holiday.

Vanessa Kirby, Pieces of a Woman.

Frances McDormand, Nomadland.

Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman.

Actor in a Leading Role

Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal.

Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.

Anthony Hopkins, The Father.

Gary Oldman, Mank.

Steven Yeun, Minari.

Leave a Reply